



HUMAN RESOURCES POLICY COMMITTEE

Wednesday 5 April 2017 at 10.00 a.m. in the South Wing Council Room

MINUTES

Present: Professor Michael Arthur (Chair) Ms Wendy Appleby Dr Paul Ayris Dame Nicola Brewer Mr Simon Cane Dr Celia Caulcott Professor Mark Emberton **Professor Becky Francis** Professor Dame Hazel Genn Mr Andrew Grainger Mr Phil Harding Mrs Lori Houlihan Mr Rex Knight Ms Collette Lux Professor John Mullan Professor Ivan Parkin Mr John Parr Professor Alan Penn **Professor David Price Professor Geraint Rees Professor Anthony Smith** Professor Alan Thompson Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker

Apologies have been received from Dr Mike Cope, Professor Graham Hart, Professor Mary Fulbrook, Professor David Lomas, and Mr Tom Rowson.

In attendance: Ms Sarah Guise, Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Mr Geoff Lang, Director, HR Strategy and Planning, and Dr Marguerite Nolan, Committee Secretary.

Key to abb	reviations used in these Minutes:
HOD	Head of Department
HRPC	Human Resources Policy Committee
JNC	Joint Negotiating Committee
UCEA	Universities and Colleges Employers Association

PRELIMINARY FORMAL BUSINESS

1. Minutes of the meeting of the HRPC held on 21 December 2016

1.1 **Approved:** The Committee approved the minutes of the last meeting of the Human Resources Policy Committee (HRPC) held on 21 December 2016.

2. Matters arising from the Minutes

HRPC 2-1 (16-17)

2.1 **Received:** The Committee received and noted the report on Matters Arising