

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

14 August 2014

MINUTES

Present: Professor Mike Ewing (Chair)

Mr David Ashton
Professor Chris Carey
Dr Brenda Cross
Dr Julie Evans
Dr Caroline Essex
Mr Marco Federighi
Dr Arne Hofmann
Dr Christine Kinnon
Ms Kathleen Nicholls

Dr Helen Matthews Dr John Mitchell Dr Hilary Richards Dr Fiona Strawbridge Ms Olga Thomas Professor Derek Tocher

Dr Paul Walker Ms Susan Ware Dr Andrew Wills

In attendance: Ms Sandra Hinton (Secretary); Mr Mark Hodgson [for Min. 85]; Ms Irenie Morley; Dr Hazel Smith.

Apologies for absence were received from: Professor David Bogle; Dr Dilly Fung; Mr Keir Gallagher; Ms Clare Goudy; Dr Joyce Harper; Ms Valerie Hogg; Mr Ben Towse.

85 AWARD OF MERIT [EdCom Min.70, 13-14]

Noted:

- 85.1 EdCom had previously resolved that the classification of 'Merit' be applied to all MRes, MA, MSc programmes, that 'Merit' be introduced for postgraduate Diploma programmes and 'Distinction' and 'Merit' for Postgraduate Certificate programmes. The criteria for Merit will be an overall average of 60 and a minimum mark of 60 in the dissertation with no condoned passes or fails and the criteria for a Distinction will be an overall average of 70 and a minimum mark of 70 in the dissertation, with no condoned passes or fails.
- 85.2 At its meeting of 19 June, EdCom had resolved that an extraordinary meeting of h no

Discussion:

85.3 During a wide ranging discussion, the following key points were made: