

Academic Board

Wednesday 14 June 2023¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair)

Dr Mojtaba Abdi-Jalebi; Aziz Abdulhadi; Professor Ibrahim Abubakar; Jennifer Akinola; Dr Bojan Aleksov; Adnan Ali; Professor Mark Altaweel; Dr Jake Anders; Dr Fausto Andreola; Professor Lynn Ang; Professor Haki Antonsson; Professor Kathleen Armour; Professor Anasuya Aruliah; Professor Jonathan Ashmore; Professor Tomaso Aste; Professor Jan Axmacher; Dr Paul Ayris; Professor Gianluca Baio; Professor Kristin Bakke; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Professor Mette Berg; Professor Chris Blackman; Robert Bodden; Professor David Bogle; Kate Boldry; Dr Neus Bover Fonts; Dr Jeff Bowersox; Dr Raina Brands; Professor Georgina Brewis; Dr Damian Bright; Professor Annie Britton; Dr Suzy Buckley; Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo; Professor Helene Burningham; Dr Boyana Buyuklieva; Professor Fabio Caccioli; Noël Caliste; Professor Benjamin Caplin; Professor Licia Capra; Professor Tom Carlson; Professor Claire Carmalt; Dr Brent Carnell; Professor Madeline Carr; Professor Paola Ceccarelli; Professor Richard Chandler; Dr Declan Chard; Professor Umber Cheema; Sianne Chinwuba; Professor Vijay Chudasama; Professor Olga Ciccarelli; Professor Beverley Clark; Dr Alun Coker; Professor Barbara Conradt; Kimberly Cornfield; Dr Danielle D'Lima; Dr Silvia dal Bianco-3(a)-3(sak3t0s5K)-3(ici)(8MTd4.96 8423 I>3@045/C0 0 594.96 888888888888888750045004 Professor Adham Hashibon; Dr James Haworth; Professor Michael Heinrich; Professor Mark Hewitson; Professor Arne Hofmann; Professor Jane Holder; Dr Joshua Hollands; Professor Katherine Holt; Dr Pam Houston; Professor Jie Huang; Kerem Isik; Professor Richard Jackman; Professor Dan Jagger; Professor Philip Jones; Professor Tim Jordan; Dr Thomas Kador; Kate Keen; Professor Nicoletta Kessaris; Professor Robert Killey; Professor John King; Professor Diane Koenker; Professor Julia Korosteleva; Professor Alison Koslowski; Edyta Kostanek; Dr Danielle Lamb; Dr Sandra Leaton Gray; Professor Alena Ledeneva; Professor Paola Lettieri; Professor Dewi Lewis; Dr Jonathan Lezmy; Amy Lightstone; Professor Pedro Machado; Dr Isobel Mackay; Professor Sandy MacRobert; eva; ProfeMPDr IIrt; e13(so)6hloy.or Ale

Dr Zachary Walker; Professor Nicola Walshe; Professor David Waters; Professor Li Wei; Dr Iya Whiteley; Breege Whiten; Professor Andrew Wills; Professor Helen Wilson; Professor James Wilson; Professor Stephen Wilson; Dr Nick Witham; Michael Wozniak; Professor Christopher Yeo; Dr Victoria Yorke-Edwards; Professor Ian Zachary; Dr Davide Zecchin; Professor Stan Zochowski.

50 **ACADEMIC UNITS: INSTITUTE OF EDUCATION** (Paper 6-03)

- 50.1 Academic Board was invited to advise Council on a proposal to formalise the departmental structure of the UCL Institute of Education by recognising six academic units with effect from 1 August 2023.
- 50.2 Members spoke in favour of the principle of recognising the six units in question, but flagged the potential for confusion between the names of those units and activity based in other faculties. It was noted however that the six departments already existed under those names, and that the change proposed was purely in respect of their being formally recognised by Council and listed in Regulation for Management 11. The issue of nomenclature was nevertheless noted.
- 50.3 Members noted an earlier discussion at Academic Board (AB Minute 8, 02.11.22) about the naming of the UCL Institute of Education as a whole. It was confirmed that no proposal to rename the Institute was being made at this stage, pending the conclusions of the branding review. The formal name in the Regulations was the UCL Institute of Education, and the Chair confirmed that the longer form proposed at the meeting of 2 November should not be used.
- 50.4 Academic Board supported the proposal to establish the six academic units listed in the paper, on the understanding that the branding review would consider the broader question of the nomenclature of units across the university.

51 **EDUCATION COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT** (Paper 6-04)

51.1 AB noted the report. It was intended that this would be brought at an earlier stage next year, if possible in the autumn term. It would be helpful for the report to address issues that Education Committee would like Academic Board to focus on.

52 **STANDING ORDERS** (Paper 6-05)

- 52.1 Academic Board received a presentation on the principal proposed changes to the Standing Orders. These related to:
 - Standing Orders 5 & 15: clarification of the various voting mechanisms, the nature of the business to which these could apply, and the possibility of introducing variations to agenda items;
 - Standing Order 9: rules around the overrunning of scheduled meeting timeslots:
 - Standing Order 13: revisions to the Terms of Reference and the constitution of GCAB;
 - Standing Order 17: a new Standing Order addressing the Terms of Reference and the constitution of the Executive Committee of the Academic Board;

- Standing Order 18: a new Standing Order relating to the archiving of records.
- In relation to the new text at Standing Order 5 about the variation of an agenda item, Academic Board discussed the question of whose interpretation of a paper would be the defining one. AB considered that it would be for the meeting to decide (and if necessary to vote) on what its understanding of the paper was, in order to determine whether a proposed interpretation did or did not constitute a 'substantive amendment' of the type referred to in SO 5(i)(c) and therefore requiring a vote of 2/3 of those present and voting to be accepted.
- 52.3 Academic Board approved the proposed amendments to the Standing Orders with effect from 1 October 2023.

Part III: Other business for approval or information

- 53 **AB ELECTIONS TO OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 6-06)
 - 53.1 Noted.
- 54 **MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 6-07)
 - 54.1 Noted.
- 55 **ACADEMIC BOARD MEETINGS IN 2023-24 AND 2024-25** (Paper 6-08)
 - 55.1 Noted.
- 56 **GCAB NOMINATIONS** (Paper 6-09)
 - 56.1 Noted.
- 57 **DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING**
 - 57.1 The next meeting would be on Wednesday 5 July at 3.30-5pm.

Nick McGhee Secretary to Academic Board Tel: [+44] (0)20 3108 8217 Email: n.mcghee@ucl.ac.uk