Government Defeat in Lords on Elections Bill

Monday 25/04/2022

On 25/04/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Elections Bill: To remove a clause that would have required that the Electoral

relating to elections when carrying out its functions.

This was defeat number 125 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	192	10	202	56
Labour	1	103	104	65
Liberal Democrat	0	74	74	10
Crossbench	1	63	64	116
Bishops	0	3	3	23
Other	5	12	17	33
Total	199	265	464	303

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Govern	servative votes with the Government				
Lord Agnew of Oulton	Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Lord Altrincham			
Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom	Earl Arran	Lord Ashton of Hyde			
Lord Astor of Hever	Viscount Astor	Earl Attlee			
Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham			
Lord Benyon	Baroness Berridge	Lord Bethell			
Lord Black of Brentwood	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Lord Blencathra			
Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Lord Borwick	Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone			
Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth	Lord Brabazon of Tara	Lord Bridges of Headley			
Lord Caine	Earl Caithness	Lord Callanan			
Viscount Camrose	Lord Carrington of Fulham	Earl Cathcart			
Lord Chadlington	Baroness Chalker of Wallasey	Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen			
Lord Colgrain	Earl Courtown	Baroness Couttie			
Lord Crathorne	Lord Cruddas	Baroness Cumberlege			
Lord Davies of Gower	Lord De Mauley	Lord Deighton			
Lord Dobbs	Lord Duncan of Springbank	Earl Dundee			
Lord Dunlop	Baroness Eaton	Viscount Eccles			
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Fairhead			
Lord Farmer	Lord Finkelstein	Baroness Finn			
Baroness Fleet	Lord Flight	Baroness Fookes			
Lord Forsyth of Drumlean	Baroness Foster of Oxton	Lord Framlingham			
Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie	Lord Frost	Baroness Fullbrook			
Lord Garnier	Lord Geddes	Lord Glendonbrook			
Lord Godson	Baroness Goldie	Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park			
Viscount Goschen	Lord Grade of Yarmouth	Lord Greenhalgh			
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Hamilton of Epsom			
Lord Hannan of Kingsclere	Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech			
Lord Harris of Peckham	Lord Haselhurst	Baroness Helic			
Lord Henley	Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts			
Lord Holmes of Richmond	Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam			
Lord Howard of Lympne	Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe			

Lord Khan of BurnleyLord Knight of WeymouthLord LayardLord LennieLord LiddleLord LipseyBaroness MallalieuLord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Baroness Lister of Burtersett Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McN8141[Lor]10(t) 99(Le)7(nie]TJET6

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Greengross Lord Greenway Baroness Grey-Thompson

Lord Hannay of ChiswickBaroness HaymanBaroness HollinsLord Hope of CraigheadLord JanvrinLord JudgeLord KakkarLord Kerr of KinlochardLord Kerslake

Lord Kilclooney Lord Krebs Lord Laming
Lord Low of Dalston Earl Lytton Lord Macdonald of River Glaven

Baroness Masham of Ilton Lord McDonald of Salford

Baroness MeacherBaroness MurphyLord O'DonnellBaroness O'LoanLord PannickBaroness PrasharLord RickettsLord Rowe-BeddoeEarl Sandwich

Lord Sentamu Baroness Stern Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd
Lord Vaux of Harrowden Lord Warner Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Viscount Waverley Duke of Wellington Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Chelmsford Bishop of Manchester Bishop of Worcester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Faulks Baroness Fox of Buckley

Lord McCrea Magherafelt and Lord Morrow

Cookstown

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Blackstone Lord Desai
Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Lord Mann

Lord Rogan Lord Stone of Blackheath Ref: 2607

Lord Taylor of Warwick Baroness Uddin Lord Wigley